My Own Style Story “To Be”

Ever since I started Your Style Stories, people have asked me if I have any tattoos or piercings. The funny thing is I actually don’t, save two piercings on each ear lobe. That’s actually one of the reasons I started this blog, I am so fascinated with other people’s body art because it is so foreign to my body. Every time I see an interesting tattoo I can’t help but ask, “Why did you get that? What’s the story behind it?”

Some people feel almost prying for asking a personal question like that, but the way I see it, if you have a piece of permanent artwork on your body, you’re only doing it half the justice by showing it off to the world. You should share the possibly incredibly arresting story behind why you put yourself through the many minutes or even hours of pain to be able to express yourself the way you are. I must say, now that I have a site that I can use as an excuse to ask anyone about their tattoos, piercings, hair cut or color, and so on, I hold absolutely no shame what so ever in asking anyone to share their story with me. However, since I’ve been 18-years-old (I’m now 21) I’ve always wondered what I would want in a personal tattoo or piercing.

Not too long ago, I saw my friend Steph’s piercings for the first time; two dermal piercings on the small of her back, one in each dimple. I thought “that’s beautiful!”

There was something about the little glint of diamond resting so delicately on such a feminine area of her body that made me want a dermal piercing for the first time in my life. I was never the kind of girl to think I needed a cartilage piercing or belly button piercing as soon as all the other girls in middle school and high school got one, I wanted to be original and not conforming to a trend. I knew that if I was going to do something to my body, I wanted to do it for me. The reason I fell so in love with Steph’s  “dermals” is because it was so unusual and lovely to me, and was also in a place that I could choose to show or cover for career purposes. This is unmistakably the piercing I will get if I find out for sure my body will not reject the piercings, and if I can talk myself into dealing with the painful process it takes to implant the piercings into my skin. If you don’t know what I mean, look here.

As far as a tattoo goes, I used to joke with my friends that I would get a heart shaped pad lock tattooed on my pelvic bone, right below my bikini line as a personal tribute of love, and then I would have my significant other get a tattoo of a heart shaped key on his… well you get the joke. In all seriousness though, I feel that I would absolutely get a tattoo if I felt I experienced something I would forever want to etch into my skin as a reminder of that experience or whatever lesson it taught me. I would want it to be colorful with barely any black lines, regardless if it was a reminder of a negative or positive event. I love colorful pieces of art and would want to make colors a part of my body through this tattoo. It would be fairly small and I would put it some place very personal such as my hip or lower back. This was it would always be my little secret that I could choose to share as a surprise whenever I want.

Although I have not gone through any experience that I feel should be commemorated just yet, and I haven’t thought through whether I would have a picture or phrase done, I know that I would make it very special and personal. And to whomever I show it to, I would want it to make them curious enough to ask me why I got that particular tattoo. That is when I would tell them my style story.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Targeted Email Marketing
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 03:38:20

    targeted email marketing I was honored to get a call from my friend as he identified the important tips shared in your site. Examining your blog article is a real great experience. Thanks again for taking into consideration readers at all like me, and I hope for you the best of achievements as being a professional discipline|in this field}.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

